Uncategorized

Easter Long Weekend – here we come

So our camping kit was packed and my 11 year old son (let’s call him my QT) was excited that he and his friend would be camping over the weekend.

I, on the other hand was already exhausted from going to see My Fair Lady the previous night, then packing and preparing as well as working (all of those working Mums out there know exactly I am talking about).

We had a fabulous time (4 great days) with terrific family friends up on the Sunny Coast. The caravan park we stayed in was dedicated to families. It was a little kids’ dream – pools, water slides, pony rides, petting zoo, great scooter paths, movies every night – everything that 11 year old kids love.

I am pleased to say that we are now safely home, exhausted and a little bit browner however we are safe.

Here is where I get to the point of my story, today one of my football Mum friends sent me a link on Facebook which shows the kind of damage that being distracted on the road can cause. It has really shocked me.

road closed accident

A lorry driver in the UK was changing the music on his iPhone (whilst he was going 50mph (80.47kmph)). He drove straight into stationary traffic that was waiting to exit off the motorway. An entire family were killed in an instant. The footage was horrific and I cannot get it out of my head.

Here is the link if you want to find out more about this particular accident – actually I do not even think that you can call it an accident, this was just carnage!

I really wanted to remind everyone that as the Easter long weekend approaches to be aware of the precious cargo that you have on board and that the other families who are travelling next to you have on board.

We all know that you cannot control what others do on the road however we can control what we do.

The victim’s mother said that “it only takes a second of distraction to kill someone, destroying your life, your family’s lives, and those of your victim and their family”, this is absolutely true. If everyone takes a break, does not use their phone and drives diligently then I am sure that this year all of our families will return safely home.

Drive safely and remember double demerits!

Tracie

 

 

 

One thought on “Easter Long Weekend – here we come

  1. Such true words Tracie. Lets get this spreading like wildfire. So many people are so reckless when they are behind the wheel. People think they are invincible and it makes my blood boil that someone’s split second mistake can ruin other people’s lives. Thank you for sharing Tracie. Look forward to reading your next one

    Like

Leave a Reply

